Blue Note


The Finest In Jazz Since 1939
High Fidelity

Chant (1961)


Back to
Herbie Hancock

Not released until 1979, this excellent quintet session features the always formidable team of trumpeterDonald Byrd and baritonist Pepper Adams. The accompanying rhythm section includes pianist Herbie Hancock shortly before he joined Miles Davis. The repertoire consists of six likable tunes including an uptempo "I'm an Old Cowhand," "That's All," "Sophisticated Lady," two Byrd originals and Duke Pearson's "Chant." This is superior hard bop from the early '60s.